The field for the 29th annual Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway is set.

The field for the 29th annual Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway is set.

There will be at least 21 drivers that will be eligible for the 2007 Budweiser Shootout at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday night, Feb. 10.

The field for the non-points NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series All-Star race features the previous season's pole winners and past Budweiser Shootout champions.

Drivers that have won pole positions during the 2006 season and qualified for 2007 Budweiser Shootout are three-time Daytona 500 champion Jeff Gordon, 2006 Daytona 500 winner and 2006 NEXTEL Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, 2006 Budweiser Shootout champion Denny Hamlin, Brian Vickers, rookie driver David Gilliland, Kevin Harvick, Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Elliott Sadler, Scott Riggs, Ryan Newman and Boris Said.

Past Budweiser Shootout champions eligible for the 2007 event are three-time Daytona 500 champion Dale Jarrett, 2004 Daytona 500 winner Dale Earnhardt Jr., two-time Pepsi 400 winner Tony Stewart, Mark Martin, Ken Schrader and Bill Elliott.

With only prize money and the prestige of winning at "The World Center of Racing," the Budweiser Shootout turns into a no-holds barred race with an electric atmosphere.

"It's a fun race," said Sadler, who drives for Evernham Motorsports. "It's a race you don't have to worry about points. You can go out there, it's under the lights, and you can try to win and try to do certain things that can make you or break you. It's just a great race. It's a great way to get started."

Jarrett and Vickers will be behind the wheel of Toyotas in the manufacturer's first NEXTEL Cup Series event while Hamlin will be gunning for two straight Budweiser Shootout victories.

Hamlin became the first rookie to win the Budweiser Shootout when he led 16 of the final 21 laps and held off restrictor-plate titans Earnhardt Jr. and Stewart in a green-white-checkered finish.

"I can't believe it," Hamlin said in his post-race interview. "It wasn't but two years ago I was here. Dale Earnhardt Jr. invited me to come and stay in his motor home. That's the only time I'd ever been to Victory Lane. I just can't believe it."

Speedweeks 2007 kicks off with the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 27-28. Also on tap for the three-week festival of speed are the Budweiser Shootout (Feb. 10), the Gatorade Duel (Feb. 15), the Chevy Silverado HD 250 Craftsman Truck Series race and IROC (Feb. 16), the Daytona 300 Busch Series race (Feb. 17) and the 49th annual Daytona 500 (Feb. 18).

Tickets to all exciting events at Daytona International Speedway are available online at www.racetickets.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK