It was one of the most surprising moments of the 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series season when road racing specialist Boris
It was one of the most surprising moments of the 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series season when road racing specialist Boris Said captured the Bud Pole for the 2006 Pepsi 400 and qualified for the 2007 Budweiser Shootout. In honor of the tall, bushy haired driver's achievement, Daytona International Speedway has created a unique ticket package for the 29th annual Budweiser Shootout on Saturday, Feb. 10. The Said-Head Offer, available for $70, includes a reserved seat for the Budweiser Shootout in the Weatherly Tower, a NEXTEL FANZONE admission as well as access to the VIP area for the Boris Said question and answer session in the NEXTEL FANZONE and a Said-Head wig. Said-Heads, the unofficial nickname of Boris Said fans, are most prominently seen at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International wearing curly wigs and Boris Said T-shirts. "We hope all race fans and 'Said-Heads' are able to take advantage of this special ticket offer," Daytona International Speedway President Robin Braig said. "Boris Said's pole during the Pepsi 400 Weekend was a huge surprise and he could pull off an even bigger upset by winning the Budweiser Shootout." Boris Said will be making his second start in the Budweiser Shootout, an All-Star race featuring the previous season's pole winners and past Budweiser Shootout champions. In his Budweiser Shootout debut in 2004, he finished 10th driving the No. 01 U.S. Army Chevrolet. Said, who finished fourth in the 2006 Pepsi 400, will be among 21 drivers that are eligible for the Budweiser Shootout. Other drivers that have won pole positions during the 2006 season and qualified for 2007 Budweiser Shootout are three-time Daytona 500 champion Jeff Gordon, 2006 Daytona 500 winner NEXTEL Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, 2006 Budweiser Shootout champion Denny Hamlin, Brian Vickers, rookie driver David Gilliland, Kevin Harvick, Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch, Greg Biffle, Kasey Kahne, Kyle Busch, Elliott Sadler, Scott Riggs and Ryan Newman. Past Budweiser Shootout champions eligible for the 2007 event are Dale Jarrett, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart, Mark Martin, Ken Schrader and Bill Elliott. Speedweeks 2007 kicks off with the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 27-28. Also on tap for the three-week festival of speed are the Budweiser Shootout (Feb. 10), Bud Pole Qualifying for the Daytona 500 (Feb. 11), the Gatorade Duel (Feb. 15), the Chevy Silverado HD 250 Craftsman Truck Series race and IROC (Feb. 16), the Daytona 300 Busch Series race (Feb. 17) and the 49th annual Daytona 500 (Feb. 18). Tickets to all exciting events at Daytona International Speedway are available online at www.racetickets.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK