Daytona KartWeek by Cometic Gasket wrapped up its third and final day of racing activites on Sunday at historic Daytona International Speedway.
DAYTONA BEACH , Fla. (Dec. 30, 2007) – Daytona KartWeek by Cometic Gasket wrapped up its third and final day of racing activites on Sunday at historic Daytona International Speedway.
Hundreds of karters young and old from across the country have been competing on both Daytona International Speedway’s 3.56-mile road course and the half-mile sprint track located in between NASCAR Turns 3 and 4.
Among the karters in attendance for this weekend’s race was former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Lake Speed, who finished second in the 1985 Daytona 500.
Speed, who finished 12th in Saturday’s event, finished seventh in Sunday’s Spec 125 Sprint class, which is contested in the WKA Dunlop Tire National Road Racing Series events on the 3.56-mile road course.
Speed won the International Karting Federation (IKF) National Championship six times and in 1978 he won the prestigious Karting World Championshipat rugged Darlington (S.C.) Raceway.. In 1988, he scored his lone NASCAR Sprint Cup Series victory
McMurray update: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Jamie McMurray has been competing throughout this weekend’s Daytona KartWeek by Cometic Gasket.
McMurray, who drives the No. 26 Ford for Roush Fenway Racing in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, has been racing in the TAG class in the Sprint Championships while his father Jim has been working the 3.56-mile road course.
Before he became a star NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver, McMurray spent many Christmas holidays with his family in Daytona Beach racing go-karts at Daytona International Speedway with dreams of racing NASCAR one day. About six months ago, McMurray got the go-kart itch back and purchased a go-kart.
McMurray was able to post a pair of top-10 finishes this weekend, finishing sixth on Saturday and seventh on Sunday.
More Dismore: Mark Dismore Jr., whose father is a former driver in the Indy Racing League as well as the winner of the 1993 Rolex At Daytona with Dan Gurney's

href="">All American Racers, placed has been competing in the Yamaha Sr. Sports Lite Division on the sprint course.
Sunday’s results:
WKA Dunlop Tire National Road Racing Series
Briggs Animal: 1. Duke Clark; 2. Jessica Brannam; 3. John St. Jean. Briggs Jr. Sprint Heavy: 1. Stephanie Schumacher; 2. Jerred Hembree; 3. Alex Quartelley. Stock Leopard: 1. Chuck Gafrarar; 2. Jim Russell Jr.; 3. Jeff Hoff; WKA Sprint: 1. David Bruinsma; 2. Scott Clark; 3. Mark Scott; 100cc Controlled Spec: 1. Nate Grindell; 2. Rick Fulks; 3. Criag Keller; Jr. Enduro Heavy: 1. Luke Canizales III; 2. Brian Ellis; 3. Jearmie Weeden. Yamaha Sportsman Heavy: 1. Keith Greber; 2. Michael McCombs; 3. Scott Greiner. Open Sprint: 1. Derek Billingsly; 2. Jeff Ford; 3. Jeff Futch. Spec 125 Sprint: 1. Robert Varga Jr.; 2. Jason Enders; 3. Bret Spaude. Stock Honda: 1. Clark Gaynor Jr.; 2. Chris Deckard; 3. Walter Troup. Briggs Raptor 360: 1. David Knight; 2. Steve Johnson; 3. Dominic Greco. Jr. Sprint Heavy: 1. Courtney Atkinson; 2. Tyler Scott; 3. Clint Kliem. PP Can Sprint 340: 1. Jarrett Schwarz; 2. Aleks Gregory; 3. Kevin Learnard. PP Can Sprint 380: 1. Scott Clark; 2. Louis Magiera Jr.; 3. Mike Hoff. 100cc Pipe Medium: 1. Scott Buerman; 2. Tim Jennings; 3. Ryan Hatcher. Piston Port Can Medium: 1. Michael McCombs; 2. Jarrett Schawrz; 3. David Goodwin. 250 Twin: 1. Jim Brannon; 2. Kryan Kolleda; 3. Butch Verrando. Controlled Limited: 1. Brandon Fry; 2. Nate Grindell; 3. Lance Fry. Unlimited: 1. Brian Wilhelm; 2. Mitch White; 3. Allen Cox. CIK 125 Sprint: 1. Brian Fisher; 2. Jim Russell Jr.; 3. Andrew Noyes. WKA 125 Sprint: 1. Joseph Komyati; 2. Tracy Phillips; 3. Patrick Young.
Sprint Championships:
HPV Heavy: 1. Corey Reeves; 2. Ryan Stewart; 3. Patrick Olsen. Cadet Jr. Spts Final: 1. Austin Self; 2. Breyton Santee; 3. Stephen Kalogiannis. HPV Jr. Heavy: 1. Nick Neri; 2. Timmy Andersen; 3. Zach Busch. Yamaha Lite: 1. David Kraeer; 2. Tony Jump; 3. TJ Koyen. HPV Jr. Sportsman: 1. Austin Self; 2. Jake Cole; 3. Tyler Thomas. TAG Final: 1. Caleb Loniewski; 2. Chris Keller; 3. Brian Jacobsen. Yamaha Jr. SuperCan Lite: 1. Zack Busch; 2. Justin Jennings; 3. Tyler Schule.
Saturday’s late results: 
HPV Jr. Lite: 1. Tommy Anderson, 2. Shinya Michimi, Zack Busch; Yamaha Heavy: 1. Kevin Nelson, 2. Corey Reeves, 3. Scott Ferris; Yamaha Masters: 1. Jeff Jewell, 2. John Dixon, 3. Dale Roller; Yamaha Jr. SuperCan Heavy: 1. Cody Robinson, 2. Dylan Nobile, 3. Dakota Pesek; Yamaha Sr. Spts Lite: 1. Brandon Adkins, 2. Chris Larson, 3. Corey Reeves;   Briggs Raptor 360: 1. Craig

Wulf, 2. Ross Wulf, 3. Robert Iverson; Jr. Sprint Lite: 1. Courtney Atkinson, 2. Clint Kliem, 3. Tyler Scott; PP Can Sprint 360: 1. David Bruinsma, 2. Kevin Learnard, 3. Scott Clark; Briggs Animal 335: 1. Mike Stroik, 2. M Duke Clark, 3. Jessica Brannam; Briggs Animal 385: 1. Danny Miller, 2. Paul Rice III, 3. Vince Bartolotta; Briggs Jr. Sprint Lite: 1. Stephanie Schumacher, 2. Alex Quarteiley, 3. Jerred Hembree; Stock Leopard: 1. Sam Linhardt, 2. Damien Winn, 3. Phil Kirby; WKA Sprint: 1. Scott Clark, 2. Courtney Good, 3. Mark Scott; Jr. Enduro Lite: 1. Brent Goodwin, 2. Anthony Gillum, 3. Luke Canizales III; Piston Port Can Lite: 1. Lindsay Walkup-Fox, 2. David Linhardt, 3. Mike Schwarz; Yamaha Sportsman Medium: 1. Lance Fry, 2. Nate Grindell, 3. Keith Freber; Formula 125: 1. Mittch White, 2. Rory Pederson, 3. Michael Lattos; Unlimited 1: 1. Kenneth Deutsch, 2. Carl Goutell, 3. Robert Lawson; 250 Twin 1: 1. Jim Brannon, 2. Bryan Kolleda, 3. Mike Hurdzan; B Stock: 1. Johnny Howard, 2. Bret Spaude, 3. Kevin Kann; Formula 100: 1. Rick Fulks, 2 Donald G. Chrzan, 3. Pierre Huang; Open Sprint 1: 1. Louie Magiera, 2. Derek Billingsly, 3. Jeff Ford; Spec 125 Sprint 1: 1. Bret Spaude, 2. Jason Enders, 3. Trevor Hill; Stock Honda: 1. Clark Gaynor Jr., 2. Jack Falkenstein, 3. Chris Deckard.

Race tickets for any Daytona International Speedway events are available online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP. 

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK