24 Daytona 500 Champions To Serve As Grand Marshal For 50th Daytona 500

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 6, 2008) – The 24 living DAYTONA 500 Champions will serve as Grand Marshals for the historic 50th Running of the Daytona 500, giving the command “Gentlemen, Start Your Engines,” to get the most anticipated even in racing history underway.
On Sunday, Feb. 17th, the culmination of DIRECTV Speedweeks at Daytona International Speedway will peak when 24 legends get NASCAR’s biggest, richest and most prestigious race started from “The World Center of Racing.”
Drivers on hand throughout the momentous weekend who will order the most anticipated words in racing include: Bobby Allison (1978, 1982, 1988); Mario Andretti (1967); Buddy Baker (1980); Geoff Bodine (1986); Ward Burton (2002); Derrike Cope (1990); Dale Earnhardt, Jr. (2004); Bill Elliott (1985, 1987); A.J. Foyt (1972); Jeff Gordon (1997, 1999, 2005); Pete Hamilton (1970); Kevin Harvick (2007); Ernie Irvan (1991); Dale Jarrett (1993, 1996, 2000); Jimmie Johnson (2006); Junior Johnson (1960); Fred Lorenzen (1965); Sterling Marlin (1994, 1995); Marvin Panch (1961); David Pearson (1976); Richard Petty (1964, 1966, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1979, 1981); Darrell Waltrip (1989); Michael Waltrip (2001, 2003); Cale Yarborough (1968, 1977, 1983, 1984).
“It’s only fitting that these Champions take part in the most exciting prelude to the most anticipated event in racing history,” said Speedway President Robin Braig. “We’re honored to have these living legends on site to help celebrate this momentous occasion.”
To purchase tickets to 2008 DIRECTV Speedweeks at Daytona events visit www.racetickets.com or call 1-800-PITSHOP.
Tickets? Questions?
Call 1-800-PIT-SHOP

© 2016 Daytona International Speedway

Fanatics Chair


Fanatics Authentic offers timeless collectibles from Daytona as part of the historic DAYTONA Rising redevelopment

Read More >
Ticket Exchange
Follow Us
Mobile App

ISC Track Sites