The entry list for the 47th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 24-25 is filling up fast. The star-studded race, which will have a new starting time of 3:30 p.m. in 2009, is quickly putting together a who's who entry list of motorsports stars.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Dec. 13, 2008) -- The entry list for the 47th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 24-25 is filling up fast.

The star-studded race, which will have a new starting time of 3:30 p.m. in 2009, is quickly putting together a who’s who entry list of motorsports stars.

Here's a look at some of the teams and drivers that have made their official entries into the Rolex 24. Make sure to check back often as the list continues to grow and to purchase tickets to the Rolex 24, call 1-800-PITSHOP or visit

·        GAINSCO/Bob Stallings Racing, the 2007 Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series presented by Crown Royal Cask No. 16 Daytona Prototype champions, has entered the No. 99 Pontiac Riley with three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson, 1996 Champ Car titlist Jimmy Vasser, Alex Gurney and Jon Fogarty. 
·        Patrick Dempsey will make his second appearance in the Rolex 24. Hyper Sport will field the No. 40 Mazdaspeed Mazda RX-8 GT under the Dempsey Racing banner. Sharing the driving with the popular racer/actor will be Joe Foster, the 2008 KONI Challenge Series co-champion, and Charles Espenlaub.
·         Michael Shank Racing, which captured the front row for the 2008 Rolex 24, has entered a pair of Ford Rileys. Mark Patterson and Oswaldo Negri will co-drive the No. 60, while John Pew - winner of the 2008 finale at Miller Motorsports Park - will co-drive the No. 6 with Michael Valiante. Shank captured both front-row starting positions for the 2008 Rolex 24, with Negri on the pole and AJ Allendinger on the outside.
·        Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates, gunning for a record fourth Rolex 24 overall win, has entered a pair of Lexus-powered Rileys
·        Spirit of Daytona Racing has officially with motorcycle stars turned sports car drivers Scott Russell, Jeff Ward, and Jason Pridmore in the No. 09 Porsche V8-powered Coyote. Russell is a five-time Daytona 200 By Honda motorcycle champion.
·        SpeedSource entered a pair of Mazda RX-8s, including the 2008 Rolex 24 GT class-winning No. 70 Castrol Syntec of Sylvain Tremblay, Nick Ham and David Haskell. The team also entered the FXDD-sponsored No. 69 for Emil Assentato, Jeff Segal, Nick Longhi and Lonnie Pechnik.
·        Banner Racing, the 2008 GT champion, entered the No. 07 Pontiac GXP.R for defending co-champions Paul Edwards and Kelly Collins. They will be joined at the Rolex 24 by international star Jan Magnussen.
·        Wayne Taylor will be seeking his third overall victory in the Rolex 24 At Daytona, entering the No. 10 SunTrust Racing Ford Dallara. Taylor will be joined by his regular drivers, Max Angelelli and Brian Frisselle, and Portuguese sports car and Formula 1 veteran Pedro Lamy.
·        Penske Racing has announced they will campaign the No. 7 Penske Porsche Riley Daytona Prototype. Timo Bernhard and Romain Dumas, Porsche factory racers and multiple sports car series champions, will be the primary drivers of the No. 7 machine. Further information about the Penske Racing Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series team will be forthcoming as all plans are finalized.
·        Alegra Motorsports, the 2007 GT class winner in the Rolex 24, will move to the Daytona Prototype class. Carlos de Queseda and Jean-Francois Dumoulin, who co-drove the Alegra Motorsports Porsche to the GT victory two years ago, will by joined by Ryan Dalziel, Tomas Enge and Chapman Ducote in the No. 22 Gatorade/Today's MD BMW Riley
·        Brumos Racing has entered a pair of Brumos Porsche and Kendall sponsored Porsche Rileys. Hurley Haywood, seeking to extend his record with a sixth overall victory in the Rolex 24 will join regular drivers JC France and Joao Barbosa in the No. 59 entry. Completing the lineup will be Terry Borcheller, the 2003 Daytona Prototype champion. Return to the No. 58 entry are regulars David Donohue and Darren Law, plus 2004 Indianapolis 500 winner Buddy Rice.
·        Childress-Howard Motorsports will make its Rolex 24 debut with the No. 2 Pontiac Crawford driven by Andy Wallace and Rob Finlay.
·        AIM Autosport entered the No. 61 Ford Riley for Burt Frisselle, Mark Wilkins, John Farano, Alex Figge and David Empringham.
·        RVO Motorsports entered the No. 12 Chevrolet Riley for Roger Schramm, Tonis Kasemets, Paul Dallenbach and Bill Lester, a former NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver.
·        Krohn Racing will race a pair of Ford-powered ProtoAuto Lolas in the Rolex 24. Tracy Krohn and Eric van de Poele will be joined by Oliver Gavin in the No. 75, while Nic Jonsson and Ricardo Zonta will partner with Darren Turner in the No. 76.
·        Farnbacher Loles Racing has filed five entries in the GT class for the Rolex 24. Michael Gomez, Daniel Graeff and Ron Yarab Jr. will co-drive the Farnbacher Loles Racing No. 85 Children’s Tumor Foundation Porsche GT3. Leh Keen and 2007 Rolex Series GT champion Dirk Werner are entered in the team’s No. 87 Porsche. Former NFL star Steve Johnson joins Dave Lacey and Robert Nearn in the No. 88, while Giacomo Petrobelli, Robert Renauer, Giacomo Ricci, Gabrio Rosa and Allan Simonson are listed for the No. 89. Co-driving the No. 86 entry will be Dominik Farnbacher, Erik Lux and Matthew Marsh. This gives the team five Porsches for the Rolex 24, in addition to preparing the No. 64 entry for JLowe Motorsports.
·          Kevin Buckler's TRG filed entries for a quartet of Porsche 997s. David Quinlan, Bruce LeDoux, Dan Watkins and Steve Zadig will pilot the No. 63 entry. Co-driving the No. 65 are John Potter, Craig Stanton and Bryce Miller. Andy Lally and RJ Valentine partner in the No. 67, while Josemanuel Gutierrez, Chris Pallis and Steve Miller will be in the No. 68.

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK