DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- The first official act of the 2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup season will take place on Thursday night, Feb. 4 with the Budweiser Shootout Draw Party on the SPEED Stage located outside Turn 4 of historic Daytona International Speedway.

Drivers that are eligible for the 32nd annual Budweiser Shootout will draw their starting position for the 75-lap no-holds barred classic set for Saturday, Feb. 6 at the "World Center of Racing." The draw party, which begins at 8 p.m., is free and open to the public.

The Budweiser Shootout will feature a star-studded lineup with new criteria for the 2010 edition of the non-points race. Drivers eligible include:

• The 12 drivers who qualified for the 2009 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
• Past NASCAR Sprint Cup champions
• Past Budweiser Shootout champions
• Past Daytona 500 and Coke Zero Powered by Coca-Cola champions
• The reigning Raybestos Rookie of the Year

Among the drivers that will be in the field include reigning Budweiser Shootout champion Kevin Harvick, four-time defending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, two-time Budweiser Shooutout winner and 2004 Daytona 500 champion Dale Earnhardt Jr., three-time Daytona 500 champion Jeff Gordon,  Tony Stewart, Denny Hamlin and Kasey Kahne.

The race distance will be continue to be 75 (187.5 miles) on the 2.5-mile tri-oval. The race will have two segments, of 25 and 50 laps. Both green- and yellow-flag laps will count.

Between segments, there will be a 10-minute pit stop at which time teams will pit and may elect to change tires, add fuel and make normal chassis adjustments.

Before and after the Budweiser Shootout, Grammy award-winning Zac Brown Band will perform before thousands of race fans with a pre- and post-race concert as well as the National Anthem.

Tickets for all Hershey’s Milk & Milkshakes Speedweeks events, including the 52nd annual Daytona 500 on Sunday, Feb. 14, are available on your web-enabled phone at, online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter ( and Facebook (

Drivers eligible for the 2010 Budweiser Shootout
2009 Chase for the Sprint Cup drivers
Jimmie Johnson
Mark Martin
Jeff Gordon
Kurt Busch
Denny Hamlin
Tony Stewart
Greg Biffle
Juan Pablo Montoya
Ryan Newman
Kasey Kahne
Carl Edwards
Brian Vickers

Others – criteria filled in parentheses
John Andretti (Coke Zero 400 Powered By Coca-Cola)
Geoff Bodine (Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout)
Jeff Burton (Coke Zero 400)
Kyle Busch (Coke Zero 400)
Derrike Cope (Daytona 500)
Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Bill Elliott (Series champion, Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400, Budweiser Shootout)
Kevin Harvick (Daytona 500, Budweiser Shootout)
Matt Kenseth (Series champion, Daytona 500)
Bobby Labonte (Series champion)
Terry Labonte (Series champion, Budweiser Shootout)
Joey Logano (Reigning Raybestos Rookie of the Year)
Sterling Marlin (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)
Jamie McMurray (Coke Zero 400)
Ken Schrader (Budweiser Shootout)
Michael Waltrip (Daytona 500, Coke Zero 400)

• Eligibility based on a driver having competed in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series within the last two seasons.