DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Carl Edwards had the lucky hand at Thursday night’s draw party and pulled the pole position for Saturday’s Budweiser Shootout at historic Daytona International Speedway.

“It’s the first race of the season and it will be nice to be up front,” said Edwards, who drives the No. 99 Roush Fenway Ford. “It’s been a while since I’ve been on a pole. I know I didn’t earn this one. It’s all luck, but it still feels good.”

Defending Budweiser Shootout champion Kevin Harvick remained at home in North Carolina after suffering flu-like symptoms. Harvick’s crew chief Gil Martin drew for the ailing Harvick and pulled the outside pole.

Rounding out the top five were Brian Vickers, Ryan Newman and Greg Biffle.

The 32nd annual Budweiser Shootout will be a 75-lap no-holds barred classic featuring a star-studded line-up with new criteria.

Drivers eligible include:
• The 12 drivers who qualified for the 2009 Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup
• Past NASCAR Sprint Cup champions
• Past Budweiser Shootout champions
• Past Daytona 500 and Coke Zero powered by Coca-Cola champions
• The reigning Raybestos Rookie of the Year
Danica Patrick: IZOD IndyCar Series Danica Patrick, who is making her stock car racing debut in Saturday’s Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200, turned 29 laps in the No. 7 Chevrolet – the most of all drivers in Thursday’s ARCA practice.

Patrick, who will go out 10th during Friday’s Lucas Oil Slick Mist 200 qualifying that begins at 11 a.m., posted a top-20 speed with a lap of 49.866 seconds, 180.484 mph.

"I think today's practice was a success," said Patrick. "I felt that the No. 7 car got stronger and more comfortable the more runs I made.  We have been working hard to get to this point, so hopefully tomorrow's qualifying run goes well."

Tickets for all Hershey’s Milk & Milkshakes Speedweeks events, including the 52nd annual Daytona 500, are available on your web-enabled phone at, online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter ( and Facebook (

2010 Budweiser Shootout Draw Positions
1. Carl Edwards
2. Kevin Harvick
3. Brian Vickers
4. Ryan Newman
5. Greg Biffle
6. Mark Martin
7. Jeff Burton
8. Matt Kenseth
9. Jamie McMurray
10.  John Andretti
11.  Dale Earnhardt Jr.
12.  Bobby Labonte
13.  Tony Stewart
14.  Ken Schrader
15.  Michael Waltrip
16.  Jimmie Johnson
17.  Kyle Busch
18.  Derrike Cope
19.  Kasey Kahne
20.  Juan Pablo Montoya
21.  Joey Logano
22.  Kurt Busch
23.  Jeff Burton
24. Denny Hamlin