Daytona International Speedway has been the site of many past sports car glories for the famed manufacturer Ferrari and here's a look at their storied success.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. -- Daytona International Speedway has been the site of many past sports car glories for the famed manufacturer Ferrari, who will debut a version of the F458 Italia specifically built for the GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series and the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona on Jan. 28-29.

Here's a look at the storied success of Ferrari at Daytona International Speedway.

1962: Phil Hill and Ricardo Rodriguez finish second overall in a Ferrari Dino 246SDP fielded by Ferrari’s North American importer Luigi Chinetti Sr. Stirling Moss finishes fourth in NART Ferraro 250GT and wins S+5000 class. NASCAR star Fireball Roberts finishes 12th in a NART Ferrari 250 GT.

1963: Pedro Rodriguez wins overall in the three-hour Daytona Continental in a Ferrari 250 GTO, fielded by Chinetti’s North America Racing Team (NART).

1964: Rodriguez and Hill win overall in a NART Ferrari 250 GTO as the Daytona Continental is expanded to 2,000 kilometers (approximately 12 hours, 30 minutes).

1966: Rodriguez and Mario Andretti finish fourth overall in a NART Ferrari 365P2/3 as the Daytona event is expanded to 24 hours.

1967: Bouncing back to setbacks at Daytona and LeMans, Ferrari orchestrates a 1-2-3 photo finish, led by Lorenzo Bandini and Chris Amon in a factory-fielded Ferrari 330P4.

1970: Andretti, Jacky Ickx and Arturo Merzario finish third overall in a factory Ferrari 512S.

1971: Ronnie Blacknum, Tony Adamowicz, Alain De Cadenet are second overall in NART Ferrari 512S.

1972: Andretti and Ickx win overall in factory Ferrari 312PB in a one-time event at the six-hour distance.

1973: In a return to 24 hours, Francois Migualt and Milt Minter place second overall and win the GT+2000 class in a NART Ferrari 365GTB/4 Daytona.

1977: Budding racer/actor Paul Newman joins Minter and Elliott Forbes-Robinson in finishing fifth overall in a Ferrari 365GTB/4 Daytona.

1979: John Morton and Adamowicz finish second overall and win the IMSA GTO class in a Ferrari 365GTB/4 entered by Otto Zipper, who passed away suddenly on the morning of the event. The team raced in his memory and won.

1996: Gianpiero Moretti fields a Ferrari 333SP prepared by Kevin Doran and finishes second overall, co-driving with Wollek, Didier Theys and Max Papis. A late-race change by Papis falls short in the closest finish in the Rolex 24 at the time, earning him the nickname the “Mad Max.”

1997: A Ferrari 333SP finishes second overall for the second straight year, with entrant Andy Evans joined by Fermin Velez and Charles and Rob Morgan.

1998: After years of trying, Moretti achieves his dream of winning the Rolex 24 in his 15th attempt, joined by Theys, Mauro Baldi and Arie Luyendyk in a Ferrari 333SP.

1999: Wayne Taylor finishes second overall in a Doyle/Risi-entered Ferrari 333SP, co-driving with Max Angelelli, Allan McNish and Didier de Radigues.

2003: Ralf Kelleners, Anthony Lazzaro and John Mowlem finish second overall in a Ferrari 360 Modena entered by Risi Competizione.

Tickets for the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona are avialable online at or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK