2001 Rolex 24 champion
Nine of the most recent overall winning cars from the Rolex 24 At Daytona will join the display of Rolex 24 At Daytona championship cars at the 50th anniversary of the twice-around-the-clock challenge on Jan. 28-29.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Nine of the most recent overall winning cars from the Rolex 24 At Daytona will join the display of Rolex 24 At Daytona championship cars at the 50th anniversary of the twice-around-the-clock challenge on Jan. 28-29.

Included in the list of newly secured championship cars are:

2000 Rolex 24-winning No. 91 Dodge Viper GTS-R: Driven by Olivier Beretta, Karl Wendlinger and Dominique Dupuy, the Oreca Viper took the checkered flag only 30.878 seconds ahead of the Corvette of Ron Fellows, Justin Bell and Chris Kneifel.

2001 Rolex 24-winning No. 2 Chevrolet Corvette: While seven-time NASCAR champion Dale Earnhardt finished fourth overall in the No. 3 Chevrolet Corvette, the No. 2 Chevrolet Corvette with Fellows, Kneifel, Frank Freon and Johnny O’Connell took the overall win.

2002 Rolex 24-winning No. 27 Dallara Judd: The Doran Lista Judd-powered Dallara and drivers Didier Theys, Fredy Lienhard, Mauro Baldi and Max Papis won the 2002 Rolex 24, the final twice-around-the-clock challenge for the open-cockpit SportsRacing Prototype cars.

2003: Rolex 24-winning No. 67 Porsche GT3RS: The Racer’s Group with Kevin Buckler, Michael Schrom, Timo Bernhard and Jorg Bergmeister.

2004 Rolex 24-winning No. 54 Pontiac Doran: The No. 54 Pontiac Doran with drivers Terry Borcheller, Forest Barber, Andy Pilgrim and Christian Fittipaldi became the first Daytona Prototype to win overall in the Rolex 24.

2005 Rolex 24-winning No. 10 Pontiac Riley: Wayne Taylor brought home his second overall Rolex 24 win in the No. 10 Pontiac Riley with Max Angelelli and Emmanuel Collard.

2009 Rolex 24-winning No. 58 Porsche Riley: With a record four cars on the lead lap at the finish, the No. 58 Brumos Porsche Riley with drivers David Donohue, Darren Law, Antonio Garcia and Buddy Rice captured the win in the closest finish in event history.

2010 Rolex 24-winning No. 9 Porsche Riley: Action Express Racing and drivers Joao Barbosa, Terry Borcheller, Ryan Dalziel and Mike Rockenfeller topped the No. 01 Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates BMW Riley by 52.303 seconds to deliver Porsche its record 22nd Rolex 24 triumph and first back-to-back twice-around-the-clock challenge win since 1987.

2007, 2008 and 2011 Rolex 24-winning No. 01 BMW Riley: Owner Chip Ganassi captured three of his four overall Rolex 24 victories with the No. 01 Riley chassis. The car was Lexus-powered in 2007 and 2008 and BMW powered in 2011.

Hurley Haywood, who holds a record five Rolex 24 triumphs and first began racing at Daytona in 1969, is excited about seeing the different eras of sports car racing through this one-of-a-kind display at the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24.

“I think people will be able to see in one spot sort of the evolution that racing has taken over the years,” Haywood said. “From 908s to 917s, to 911s, to 935s, to 962s, to the GT1 cars, it’s pretty amazing when you are able to go to one spot and see all that array of racing cars, most of which will be populated by Porsche because they have won the race so many times. I think the fans will really enjoy looking at all those different types of cars and eras of racing.”

Previously announced historic championship cars that will also be in the display include:
• The No. 96 Arciero Racing Lotus-Climax 19B  from the inaugural Rolex 24 (then known as the Daytona Continental) in 1962
• 1966 Rolex 24-winning No. 98 Ford GT Mark II
• 1968 Rolex 24-winning Porsche 907
• 1969 Rolex 24-winning No. 6 Lola T70 Chevrolet
• 1970 Rolex 24-winning No. 2 Gulf Porsche 917
• 1977 Rolex 24-winning No. 43 Porsche 911 RSR
• 1978 Rolex 24-winning No. 99 Porsche 935
• 1981 Rolex 24-winning No. 9 Bob Garretson’s Style Auto Porsche 935
• 1982 Rolex 24-winning No. 18 JLP Porsche 935
• The Preston Henn Porsches from the 1983 and 1985 Rolex 24s
• 1984 Rolex 24-winning No. 00 Kreepy Krauly Porsche-March
• 1993 Rolex 24-winning No. 98 Eagle GTP
• 1994 Rolex 24-winning No. 76 Nissan 300ZX-Turbo
• 1995 Rolex 24-winning No. 10 Kremer Porsche K8 Spyder
• 1996 Rolex 24-winning No. 4 Oldsmobile Riley & Scott Mk III
• 1997 Rolex 24-winning No. 20 Ford Riley & Scott Mk III
• 1999 Rolex 24-winning No. 20 Ford Riley & Scott Mk III

To view the complete list online, visit http://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com/Vanity-Pages/50th-Rolex-24/50-Years-of-Champions-Display.aspx. Additional cars will be announced as they are secured to be part of this one-of-a-kind display.

In addition to the 50th anniversary display during the Rolex 24 At Daytona, the championship cars will also be on display at the Rolex 50 Years of Champions, a charity gala on Thursday night, January 26th at the Ocean Center. Daytona International Speedway has partnered with the Halifax Health Foundation to host the event with the admissions proceeds benefiting the Halifax Health Foundation, which includes the area’s only Level II Trauma Center. Tickets can be purchased by calling the Halifax Health Foundation office at (386) 254-4111.

The Rolex 24 At Daytona, the kick-off event to Speedweeks 2012 as well as the international motorsports calendar, showcases the world’s best drivers competing against each other lap after lap for 24 hours on Daytona International Speedway’s challenging and demanding 3.56-mile road course.

Tickets for the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona are on sale online at www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter (www.twitter.com/disupdates) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/DaytonaInternationalSpeedway).

Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK