January 28, 2012

Daytona International Speedway celebrated the 50th Anniversary of the Rolex 24 At DAYTONA. The golden race featured the return of 29 Rolex 24 overall winning cars on display, along with 47 former champions – over half of whom competed in the race. On his ninth attempt, team owner Michael Shank finally captured America’s most prestigious sports car race. The team of Oswaldo Negri, John Pew, AJ Allmendinger and Justin Wilson in the No. 60 Michael Shank Racing with Curb-Agajanian Ford Riley survived a tight battle for the lead in the final hours to take home the grueling twice-around-the-clock challenge by a 5.198-second margin of victory.


What They Said:

Driver AJ Allmendinger: “I feel very fortunate. This is one of the reasons why I love this race, because it really kicks off Speedweeks. It’s such a prestigious race. It’s one of those races you want on your resume and you want to say that you were part of a victory. It’s amazing. I’m going to cherish this.”

Driver Oswaldo Negri: “It’s a cool way to start the year. Being with Mike for such a long time, what makes it special is that he wants to win as bad as I do. It’s just so cool. To have a fiery AJ, a very calm and fast Wilson and John Pew on the team, I think we had a dream team this year.”

Driver Patrick Dempsey: “It’s great to be here for the 50th anniversary of this great event and to see all the people who made history here. I know how passionate Jim France has been to build this series so it’s great to see.’’

DIS President Joie Chitwood: “We all think about competition on the track, but there's so much more that goes into it — the stories, the experiences, the sponsorships, the cars themselves. We think there is really nothing more appropriate than trying to round up all those individuals and automobiles to celebrate 50 years with us."



Related Features

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK