SuperSport Shootout
Argentina's Leandro Mercado captured the AMA Pro SuperSport Shootout in a nail-bitter over Orlando's Josh Day.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – Argentina rider Leandro Mercado aboard the No. 92 Monster Energy Attack Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R slipped past Orlando's Josh Day coming out of the Turn 4 on the last lap to win Sunday's AMA Pro SuperSport Shootout at Daytona International Speedway.

The margin of victory was .148 seconds for Mercado, who earned the No. 1 plate as the SuperSport National Champion.

Mercado led the opening three laps of the 12-lap race before Day, aboard the No. 4 Team E.S.P. Yamaha YZF-R6, took the lead on Lap 4. Mercado ran with Day for the reminder of the race before making his move for the win on Turn 4 of the last lap with the checkered flag in sight.

"It was a really good race," Mercado said. "I really had to work hard to catch him.  The only place I could pass him was in the second horseshoe as I was a little faster there. I was afraid to do it because the bike moved a lot and I didn't want to leave a final draft for him.  I didn't have any other opportunities to pass, but on the last lap I had a really good run out of the chicane."

The 20-year-old Day, who attended Boone High School in Orlando, was the 2009 SuperSport East champion. At one point this season, he won four straight SuperSport races and captured the SuperSport Shootout pole at his "home track" on Friday.

On the last lap, Day didn't want the lead coming out of the chicane but Mercado was playing the exact same strategy.

"I was just trying to push as hard as I could and try to get enough gap in front of him to where I could hold him off before the start/finish line for the checkered flag," Day said.  "I just tried my hardest to put in a fast lap on the white flag lap since he wouldn't come by me.  I really wanted him to lead going into the chicane so I could do the same thing that he did to me.  We ended up with second today and it's a good way to end the season.  At least we were right there at the finish."

Colombian rider Tomas Puerta aboard the No. 12 LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 edged teammate Joey Pascarella on the No. 25 LTD Racing Yamaha YZF-R6 for third-place honors.

For more information and tickets, visit or call 1-800-PITSHOP.

SuperSport Shootout Results
Provisional results for the AMA Pro SuperSport Shootout with finishing position, rider name, bike and laps:

  1. Leandro Mercado, Kawasaki, 12 laps

  2. Josh Day, Yamaha, 12

  3. Tomas Puerta, Yamaha, 12

  4. Joey Pascarella, Yamaha, 12

  5. Ricky Parker, Yamaha, 12

  6. Tyler Odom, Honda, 12

  7. Travis Wyman, Suzuki, 12

  8. Kris Turner, Suzuki, 12

  9. Huntley Nash, Yamaha, 12

  10. Russ Wikle, Suzuki, 12

  11. Kyle Keesee, Kawasaki, 12

  12. Reese Wacker, Suzuki, 12

  13. Alex Lazo, Yamaha, 3

  14. Jacob Gagne, Yamaha, 1

  15. Ryan Conrad, Yamaha, DNS

Race time : 22:27.459

Margin of victory : .148

Winner’s average speed : 113.8 mph

Laps led : Day 8; Mercado 4

Rest of Sunday’s Results
: 1. Nate Kern, BMW; 2. Chris Boy, Ducati; 3. Banny Bilansky, Buell.
Factory Pro Sportbike : 1. Dane Westby, Yamaha; 2. Michael Barnes, Yamaha; 3. Scott Greenwood, Kawasaki.
Amateur Heavyweight SuperSport : 1. Juan Carlos Osorio, Suzuki; 2. James Cohrs, Yamaha 600; 3. Javier Vazquez, Suzuki.
Expert Heavyweight SuperSport : 1. Anthony Fania Jr., Suzuki; 2. Charlie Mavros, Suzuki; 3. Juan Camilo Correa, Yamaha.
Amateur Lightweight Grand Prix : 1. Jim Berard, Ducati; 2. Jay Smith, Buell; 3. Adrian Jasso, Yamaha.
Expert Lightweight Grand Prix
: 1. Sam Rozynski, Buell; 2. Joseph Rozynski, Buell; 3. Dan Frisbie, Yamaha.
Amateur Unlimited GP : 1. Daniel Guevara, Suzuki; 2. Charles Justice, Suzuki; 3. Michael Devito, Yamaha.
Expert Unlimited GP
: 1. Eric Wood, Ducati; 2. Jeff Lampe, n/a; 3. Greg Gorman, Kawasaki.
Amateur Heavyweight Superbike : 1. Jordan Richardson, Buell; 2. Javier Vazquez, Suzuki; 3. James Cohrs, Yamaha.
Expert Heavyweight Superbike: 1. Danny Bilansky, Buell; 2. Joel Spalding, Buell; 3. Ryan Patterson, Yamaha.
Amateur Lightweight Superbike : 1. Jim Berard, Ducati; 2. Jay Smith, Buell; 3. Al Smith, Suzuki.
Expert Lightweight Superbike: 1. Sam Rozynski, Buell 1200; 2. Ed Key, Suzuki; 3. Joseph Rozynski, Buell.
Amateur Unlimited Superbike : 1. Daniel Guevara, Suzuki; 2. Charles Justice, Suzuki; 3. Javier Vazquez, Suzuki.
Expert Unlimited Superbike: 1. Brian Stokes, Kawasaki; 2. Charlie Mavros, Suzuki; 3. Greg Gorman, Kawasaki.
Amateur Ultra Light Superbike: 1. Darrell Ryals, Suzuki; 2. Charles Burton IV, Suzuki; 3. Al Smith, Suzuki.
Expert Ultra Light Superbike: 1. Rodolfo Ramirez, Suzuki; 2. Scott Mullin, Kawasaki; 3. Kyle Keesee, Suzuki.
Expert Middleweight Superbike: 1. Roberto Pietri, Yamaha; 2. Ryan Patterson, Yamaha; 3. Scott Greenwood, Kawasaki.
Amateur SuperTwins: 1. Jordan Richardson, Buell; 2. Robert Crespo, Ducati; 3. Alberto Padron, Ducati.

Expert Supertwins: 1. Barrett Long, Ducati; 2. Walt Sipp, Buell; 3. Rudolf Von Lignau, Ducati. 



Related Features

  • Schedule Announcement
    Denny Hamlin Tries to Become First DAYTONA 500 Champion to Win Three Straight in The Great American Race

    Intensity-Filled Coke Zero Sugar 400 Summer Classic set to be Final Event of Regular Season

    After the DAYTONA 500, NASCAR’s Premier Series goes to Another Florida Venue, Homestead-Miami Speedway, as NASCAR Announces Full Cup Series 2021 Schedule
  • aaron and sully concert
    Aaron Lewis & Sully Erna The Voices Of Godsmack & Staind Come Together, Live & In Person, For The First Time In The American Drive-In Tour

    One Of The First Live Rock Concert Drive-In Series Of 2020
    Offers An Intimate, Unplugged & Side-By-Side Event
    From Two Of Music’s Most Acclaimed Frontmen

    Tickets On Sale Tomorrow, September 29 at Noon
  • Magic of Lights
    Annual Magic of Lights™ Holiday Display Returns to Daytona International Speedway for a Safe and Comfortable Drive-through Experience
    - Beginning Nov. 13, One Carload, One Price to Enjoy More Than A Million Lights
    - Contactless Ticketing by Buying Tickets in Advance
    - View Display From the Comfort and Safety of Your own Vehicle
    - Portion of the Proceeds to Benefit the AdventHealth Foundation
  • D200 by CoMoto
    Most Historic Motorcycle Road Race Set to Return in March of 2021
Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK