2011 Rolex 24
Defending Rolex 24 champions announce driver lineups for the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24.

INDIANAPOLIS – Five-time and reigning GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Cars Series Champions (2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011) Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates (CGRFS) announced its season-long program for 2012, including their engine manufacturer partnership and driver line-up for the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24 At Daytona.

Long-time partner TELMEX returns as the primary sponsor of the No. 01 Dinan-Prepared BMW Riley piloted by Scott Pruett and Memo Rojas, the most-successful driving duo in GRAND-AM history, who return for their sixth consecutive season with CGRFS.

BMW Power returns for a third consecutive season through the support and assistance of BMW of North America, LLC and Dinan Engineering.  The 5.0-liter BMW M S62 V8 power plant has driven the team to 14 Daytona Prototype class victories in 24 races over the last two seasons.

In addition, the four-time Rolex 24 At Daytona winners (2006, 2007, 2008, 2011) will again run a two-car effort for the 50th running of the prestigious Rolex 24 At Daytona, featuring eight drivers representing some of the best talent the motor racing world has to offer.  Pruett and Rojas will unite with Chip Ganassi Racing Indy car teammate Graham Rahal and sports car racing talent Joey Hand to form the lineup in the No. 01 TELMEX/Target Dinan-Prepared BMW Riley, while Team Target IZOD IndyCar Series pilots Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti join their NASCAR teammates at Earnhardt Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Juan Pablo Montoya and Jamie McMurray in the No. 02 Target/TELMEX Dinan-Prepared BMW Riley for a second consecutive year.

The team comes into 2012 as the defending Rolex 24 At Daytona Winners and GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series Champions.  Franchitti is also the defending IZOD IndyCar Series Champion, while Hand is the defending Rolex 24 At Daytona and Sebring 12 Hour GT Winner, as well as the American LeMans Series GT Titleholder.

CGRFS’ one-two finish in the 2011 Rolex 24 At Daytona marked the first time a team had reached the four-win mark since Brumos Porsche (1973, 1975, 1978, 2009), and the quickest to do so in the race’s 50-year history.

Tickets for the 50th anniversary of the Rolex 24 are available online at http://www.daytonainternationalspeedway.com or by calling 1-800-PITSHOP.


Related Features

Next Article:
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK