Danny Eslick
It was the 12th time in the race’s history that a rider has won the Daytona 200 in consecutive years; the most recent repeat had been Mat Mladin in 2000-01.

Danny Eslick won the 74th DAYTONA 200 for the second-straight year on Saturday at Daytona International Speedway, outdueling 2010 champion Josh Herrin with a dramatic last-lap pass coming off the 57-lap/200-mile American SportBike Racing Association event’s final turn. 

It was the 12th time in the race’s history that a rider has won the DAYTONA 200 in consecutive years; the most recent repeat had been Mat Mladin in 2000-01. 

Eslick pitted for fuel on Lap 54 while leading, but retained the lead coming out of the pits. Herrin then closed in quickly and when the final lap began, his No. 2 Yamaha was within a second of Eslick’s No. 69 Suzuki. In the high-banked Turns 1 and 2, Herrin grabbed apparent control. When the riders emerged from the 3.51-mile road course’s chicane – having both dealt with the untimely obstacle of a slower, lapped bike – and began climbing onto the speedway’s Turns 3 and 4, he had a seemingly secure advantage. 

It was a mirage. 

Eslick tucked in and drafted off Herrin’s bike, then nudged by him on the outside coming out of the famed “NASCAR 4.” He held on to edge Herrin by .086 seconds. 

“It was a textbook draft-pass at Daytona,” said Eslick, from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma. “Those last couple laps were pretty crazy. I thought I was all by myself. I was able to set him up [at the end].” 

Added Dublin, Georgia’s Herrin: “I thought I was going to be able to hold him off.” 

Geoff May, a long-shot veteran rider from Gainesville, Georgia, started a Yamaha from the pole and ran up front for much of the afternoon, eventually finishing third. 

The DAYTONA as its own, tradition-rich legacy that has run parallel to the DAYTONA 500 at Daytona International Speedway. The event is America’s most historic motorcycle race, dating to 1937 when Ed Kretz Sr. rode an Indian motorcycle to victory on a 4.2-mile shoreline course that utilized both the beach and State Road A1A in Daytona Beach; the race moved to the speedway in 1961, two years after the facility opened. Saturday’s running featured four former champions: Eslick, Herrin, Steve Rapp and John Ashmead. 

In addition to Eslick, here are the other DAYTONA 200 repeat championship efforts: Ben Campanale (1938-39); Dick Klamfoth (1951-52); Joe Leonard (1957-58); Brad Andres (1959-60); Roger Reiman (1964-65); Cal Rayborn (1968-69); Dick Mann (1971-72); Kenny Roberts (1983-84), Scott Russell (1994-95 and ’97-98) and Mladin. 

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and Pinterest for the latest news all season long.  Fans can also follow the latest on DAYTONA Rising, the $400 million frontstretch renovation at the “World Center of Racing” by using #DAYTONARising on Twitter or visiting www.daytonarising.com.

Related Features

  • Schedule Announcement
    Denny Hamlin Tries to Become First DAYTONA 500 Champion to Win Three Straight in The Great American Race

    Intensity-Filled Coke Zero Sugar 400 Summer Classic set to be Final Event of Regular Season

    After the DAYTONA 500, NASCAR’s Premier Series goes to Another Florida Venue, Homestead-Miami Speedway, as NASCAR Announces Full Cup Series 2021 Schedule
  • aaron and sully concert
    Aaron Lewis & Sully Erna The Voices Of Godsmack & Staind Come Together, Live & In Person, For The First Time In The American Drive-In Tour

    One Of The First Live Rock Concert Drive-In Series Of 2020
    Offers An Intimate, Unplugged & Side-By-Side Event
    From Two Of Music’s Most Acclaimed Frontmen

    Tickets On Sale Tomorrow, September 29 at Noon
  • Magic of Lights
    Annual Magic of Lights™ Holiday Display Returns to Daytona International Speedway for a Safe and Comfortable Drive-through Experience
    - Beginning Nov. 13, One Carload, One Price to Enjoy More Than A Million Lights
    - Contactless Ticketing by Buying Tickets in Advance
    - View Display From the Comfort and Safety of Your own Vehicle
    - Portion of the Proceeds to Benefit the AdventHealth Foundation
  • D200 by CoMoto
    Most Historic Motorcycle Road Race Set to Return in March of 2021
This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK