Relive all of the exciting action from Speedweeks 2016!
Lucas Oil 200 Driven By General Tire

Champion: John Wes Townley, No. 05 Zaxby’s Chevrolet

Fun Fact: This is Townley’s second Lucas Oil 200 Driven By General Tire victory in four years and his first DAYTONA win in a Chevrolet.

They Said It: “It was quite a ride there for a while,” Townley said. “We were really having to fight for it. Once you get up there [in the lead], that’s when the heart-stopping starts.”


Sprint Unlimited

Champion: Denny Hamlin, No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota Camry

Fun Fact: It marked the third consecutive Sprint Unlimited victory and fourth in the last five years for Joe Gibbs Racing.

They Said It: “This is a great team win,’ Hamlin said. “We’re looking forward to [the DAYTONA 500].”


DAYTONA 500 Qualifying By Kroger

Pole Winner: Chase Elliott, No. 24 NAPA Auto Part Chevrolet

Fun Fact: With a fast lap of 196.314 mph, Elliott became the race’s youngest pole winner, at 20 years, two months and 17 days.

They Said It: “This is a big day, but this is a long week. I’m just very honored and blessed to be with the group of guys that we have. I think it’s a special group. This entire team did such a good job on this car during this off-season. It’s awfully fast.”


Can-Am Duel

Champions: Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Duel 1), No 88 Nationwide Chevrolet & Kyle Busch (Duel 2), No. 18 M&M’s Toyota


Fun Fact: Dale Earnhardt Jr.’s victory ensured his 12th career start in the front three rows of the DAYTONA 500, the most of any active driver.

They Said It: “We got another win at Daytona for the Earnhardts, so we added to the legacy,” Earnhardt said. “We’re up in the 50s now, with all the wins we have.”


NextEra Energy Resources 250

Champion: Johnny Sauter, No. 21 Smokey Mountain Herbal Snuff Chevrolet

Fun Fact: This was the first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win at DAYTONA for Chevrolet in 17 races.

They Said It: “Man, I was so pumped up,” Sauter said. “I knew [Thursday] that this truck had speed. I knew we had raw speed. This was unbelievable. This is a hard race to win.”


PowerShares QQQ 300

Champion: Chase Elliott, No. 24 NAPA Auto Part Chevrolet

Fun Fact: At 20 years, two months and 23 days, Elliott becomes the youngest NASCAR XFINITY Series winner at Daytona.

They Said It: “I had such a good car,” Elliott said. “We found ourselves in the right place at the right time at the end and luckily I had just enough to get in front of Joey [Logano].”



Champion: Denny Hamlin, No. 11 FedEx Express Toyota Camry

Fun Fact: Hamlin delivered Joe Gibbs Racing its first DAYTONA 500 victory since Dale Jarrett did so in 1993.

They Said It: “This is the best … I mean, it’s just the best. It’s the biggest race of my life. The DAYTONA 500 … as a kid it’s what you [dream of winning] – this is the pinnacle of our sport and I’m just proud to be here.”


Related Features

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK