Hurley Haywood
Five-Time Champion Hurley Haywood Named Honorary Starter for 55th Rolex 24 At Daytona

Five-time Rolex 24 At Daytona champion Hurley Haywood will serve as the Honorary Starter for this weekend’s 55th running of the endurance sports car event, Daytona International Speedway announced Thursday.

Haywood, who shares the record for most Rolex 24 overall championships with Scott Pruett, co-drove to victories in 1973, ’75, ’77, ’79 and ’91. In the 1970s, he and Peter Gregg formed one of sports car racing’s iconic teams at Brumos Porsche Racing.

Haywood will wave the green flag Saturday for the 2:30 p.m. (ET) start of the season-opening race for the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship.

“It’s cool to have the honor of starting the Rolex 24,” Haywood said. “I spent 40 years taking the green flag but never throwing it. It’s exciting to be here. There are a lot of great-looking cars and a great driver lineup.”

Tickets and camping packages for the Rolex 24 At Daytona are on sale by calling 1-800-PITSHOP or visiting

Fans can stay connected with Daytona International Speedway on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, YouTube and Snapchat, and by downloading Daytona International Speedway’s mobile app, for the latest Speedway news throughout the season.

Related Features


This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK