The Clash is Back!

For the first time since 1997, an iconic name returns to the Daytona International Speedway lineup. The Advance Auto Parts Clash brings history into the present for the beloved under-the-lights star-powered event that began in 1979.

A True All-Star Event

From its first year in 1979 - when just nine drivers qualified - until 2008, only pole-position winners from the previous season were eligible to run in the Advance Auto Parts Clash; but, that has changed over the last several years.

However, with the new name, changes have also come to the eligibility requirements.

The field will be comprised of 2016 pole winners, 2016 playoff participants, former Advance Auto Parts Clash champions (two) and former DAYTONA 500 pole winners - putting the count at 20 drivers with eligibility, with most of the field qualifying as pole winners from last season.

Alphabetically, the pole winner list includes Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Austin Dillon, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Brad Keselowski, Joey Logano, Daniel Suarez (driving for the recently retired Carl Edwards) and Martin Truex Jr. Chris Buescher, Kyle Larson and Jamie McMurray are eligible as 2016 playoff competitors and Danica Patrick as the 2014 DAYTONA 500 pole winner. Additionally, drivers who are eligible but not expected to participate are Dale Earnhardt Jr., a former Advance Auto Parts Clash winner and Greg Biffle, the 2004 DAYTONA 500 pole winner.


Race Breakdown

The 75-lap/187.5-mile race will be split into two segments, separated by a mandatory caution period at lap 25. The race will be broadcast live on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 8 p.m. ET on Saturday, February 18.

“The Clash was a classic race name, one that truly resonated with our fans. It evokes the rich history of both NASCAR and our facility. We’re coming full-circle for this event, honoring our past while also looking to the future.” – Chip Wile, DIS President

The Advance Auto Parts Clash is back! Don’t miss out on this beloved all-start event! Guarantee your spot today by going online or calling 1-800-PITSHOP!

Related Features

This website uses cookies and similar technologies. By using this website, you are agreeing to our revised Privacy Policy (including our cookie policy) and our Terms Of Use. OK