Scm Buschpole Daytona Elliott.jpg

Chase Elliott wins Busch Pole Award for Daytona Road Course; see lineup

Chase Elliott won the Busch Pole Award for Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 253 at Daytona International Speedway’s Road Course.

Chase Elliott has won the Busch Pole Award for Sunday’s O’Reilly Auto Parts 253 at Daytona International Speedway’s Road Course (3 p.m. ET, FOX, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Elliott’s No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet will start from the pole position with Daytona 500 champion Michael McDowell in the No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford sharing the front row in the 40-car field.

Additionally, Brett Moffitt won the pole for the NASCAR Xfinity Series race and Ben Rhodes will start up front for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

RELATED: Daytona Road Course schedule | 2021 Cup Series standings

As NASCAR adapted to COVID-19 protocols last season, practice and qualifying were eliminated at a majority of national-series events to limit at-track time, exposure and to cut race weekend costs. To determine starting lineups, competition officials used grouped draws, added inversions for weekend doubleheaders, and eventually adopted a performance-metrics formula. That metrics format remains in place this season, drawing on performance from both individual races and season-long results.

NASCAR’s metrics formula for 2021 weighs:

  • 25 percent: Driver’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 25 percent: Car owner’s finishing position from the previous race
  • 35 percent: Team owner points ranking
  • 15 percent: Fastest lap from the previous race

See the full lineup for Sunday’s Cup Series race below.

Start pos.
Driver Car # Team
1 Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
2 Michael McDowell 34 Front Row Motorsports
3 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
4 Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
5 Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
6 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
7 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
8 Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
9 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
10 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
11 Joey Logano 22 Team Penske
12 Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
14 Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
15 Brad Keselowski 2 Team Penske
16 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
17 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
18 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
19 Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
20 Justin Haley 77 Spire Motorsports
21 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
22 William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
23 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
24 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
25 Garrett Smithley 53 Rick Ware Racing
26 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
27 Ryan Blaney 12 Team Penske
28 Scott Heckert 78 Live Fast Motorsports
29 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
30 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
31 Anthony Alfredo 38 Front Row Motorsports
32 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wood Brothers Racing
33 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
34 AJ Allmendinger 16 Kaulig Racing
35 Daniel Suarez 99 Trackhouse Racing Team
36 Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
37 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
38 Ty Dillon 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing
39 James Davison 15 Rick Ware Racing
40 Timmy Hill 66 Motorsports Business Management

Practice and qualifying are tentatively scheduled for eight Cup Series races this year. Busch Pole Qualifying was held for the season-opening Daytona 500; the next race with time trials scheduled is the March 28 event at Bristol Motor Speedway’s dirt track.